Our Recent Posts


No tags yet.

yoga and the chakra system

I have been learning a lot this past year about the Chakra energy system in yoga and am having more of an understanding of how energy moves through the body either freely or how it can get blocked triggering physical, mental and emotional imbalances. When it moves freely, you can make powerful shifts in your life and live more free to be who you are.

This sequence of poses I found in Yoga Journal, September 2014 edition is designed to bring balance to these chakras through the pose, breathing and intention around the characteristics of the chakra. Enjoy this sequence of poses to support balance in your energy:

Root Chakra - This chakra governs your connection to your family, your sense of belonging, security and safety. When in balance, you feel strong and confident, and able to stand on your own two feet. When out of balance, you can become needy, have low self-esteem or self-destructive behaviors.

Pose: Vrkasana (Tree Pose)

Sacral or pelvic chakra - This chakra corresponds with your reproductive and sexual organs and represents freely expressing your emotions, sexuality and creativity. When in balance, you feel creative, positive and open to change. When out of balance, you can feel hard on yourself, blame yourself for things that go wrong or feel emotionally up and down.

Pose: Devisasna (Goddess or Horse Pose)

Navel Chakra - This chakra governs your self-esteem and when in balance you have the confidence in your ability to take action, make changes and transform your life. When it's blocked, you lack courage, have low self-esteem and feel stagnant.

Pose: Navasana (Boat Pose)

Throat Chakra - This chakra governs our ability to speak our truth, find our voice and be a good listener without judgement. When it's blocked you may be overly talkative and not listen to others. When it's in balance, you communicate well with others in healthy ways and are a good listener.

Pose: Salamba Sarvangasana (Supported Shoulder Stand)

Third-eye Chakra - This chakra is associated with your intuition. When it's in balance, you trust your own insight and wisdom to face life's challenges. When it's blocked, you feel cyncical, close minded, untrusting and attached to logic.

Practice this Pose: Sukhasana (Easy Pose)

Crown Chakra - The crown chakra connects you to the spiritual realm. It helps you to understand who you are beyond your physical self - that you are a spiritual being having a human experience.

When it's out of balance you think other people or situations will make you happy. When it's in balance, you feel free in any situation life gives to you.

Practice this Pose: Savasana (Relaxation Pose)

Practice this sequence 5 - 10 minutes a day or when you are feeling out of balance in your body, choose the chakra that it correlates with and practice just that pose to bring balance back to your mind, body and soul.